December’s 'Full Cold Moon'

Wednesday, November 29, 2017 - 16:48

The December Full Moon is often referred to as the Full Cold Moon or Moon of the Long Nights Moon.

Supermoons happen when a full moon approximately coincides with the moon's perigee, or a point in its orbit at which it is closest to Earth. This makes the moon appear up to 14 percent larger and 30 percent brighter than usual, Space reports.

The moon becomes totally full at 10:47 a.m. EST (1547 GMT) on Sunday (Dec. 3). It will officially reach perigee the next day (Dec. 4) at 3:45 a.m. EST (0845 GMT), when it is 222,135 miles (357,492 kilometers) away from Earth.

Keywords

کد خبر: 615123 0 0

Opinions


Popular News

Latest News