Iran Will Witness 21st Century's Longest Eclipse

Tuesday, July 17, 2018 - 10:55

Iran will have the opportunity to witness the longest total lunar eclipse of the 21st century on July 28.

According to an ISCA report, the total phase of the "blood moon" eclipse of July 27 will last 1 hour and 43 minutes and from start to finish, the entire celestial event will last nearly 4 hours.

The entire eclipse will be visible from Africa, the Middle East and countries in central Asia. The eclipse will be visible from eastern South America as it is ending, and from Australia as it is beginning.

July's total lunar eclipse occurs on the same day the planet Mars reaches its opposition, when it will shine at its best in the night sky. This month, Mars will be at its closest to Earth since 2003. After opposition, when Mars will be brightest, it will reach that closest point on July 31.

The time of greatest eclipse will be 4:21 p.m. EDT (2021 GMT) on July 27, according to EarthSky.org. The total eclipse will last from 3:30 p.m. to 5:13 p.m. EDT (1930 to 2113 GMT). There will also be some time before and after when the moon is in the lighter part of Earth's shadow, which is called the penumbra. Including that penumbral time, the eclipse will last for 3 hours and 55 minutes.

Opinions


Popular News

Latest News