UNESCO’s World Network of Biosphere Reserves Adds Iran’s Kopet Dag to Its List

Sunday, August 12, 2018 - 14:14

Iran’s Kopet Dag, also known as the Turkmen-Khorasan Mountain Range, a protected area stretching over 18,000 hectares of land area and is filled with thick forests and variety of plant and animal species, has received UNESCO recognition for biosphere reserves.

The biosphere reserve covers part of the Kopet Dag mountain range, along Iran’s border with Turkmenistan. The ecological region of Kopet Dag is an important part of the Irano-Anatolian biodiversity hotspot, whose primary function is the conservation of many of the endangered species in this area. The main economic activities are agriculture and livestock, according to UNESCO website.

North Khorasan provincial chief of department of environment stated that over 80 percent of the region is located in Iran and highlighted that as involvement of local communities in management of biosphere reserves in order to make them less dependent on natural resources is a characteristics of UNESCO biosphere reserves, over the first phase Iran will also endeavor to focus on locals’ capacity building to decrease human-environment conflict along with providing the local with livelihood.

Festivities to celebrate the UNESCO recognition for Kopet Dag will be held in the first half of the [Iranian calendar] month of Shahrivar (August 22 to September 22), he said, IRNA news agency reported.

Iran has 13 UNESCO recognized biosphere reserves including Arasbaran, situated in the north of Iran at the border with Armenia and Azerbaijan, Arjan and Parishan, in the Zagros Mountains, situated to the very south of the Zagros Mountains, close to the Persian Gulf, Golestan, located in the north of Iran, Hara, located in the Mehran River delta in the south of Iran near the Straits of Khuran between Qeshm Island and the Persian Gulf, Kavir, in the Anatolian Iranian Desert, Lake Urmia, northwest Iran, Miankaleh, in the southeastern region of the Caspian Sea, Touran, in central province of Semnan, Dena, located in the Central Zagros mountains, Tang-e-Sayad and Sabzkuh, in the southeast of Chahar-mahal and Bakhtiari province, Located in the southeast of Iran, and Hamoun in southeast Iran which includes both terrestrial and wetland ecosystems, and Kopet Dag.

Related News

Call for Entries: 2019 UNESCO Innovation Award Ceremony

1398/2/10 12:01

IAU, Al-Mustafa Int’l University Sign MoU

1397/10/17 15:48

UNESCO to Hold National e-Learning Award in Iran

1397/9/13 13:58

Babol Noshirvani University & University of Bari Ink MoU

1397/8/22 14:21

Aliabad-e Katul SAMA IAU Mountaineer Conquers Mount Kazbek

1397/7/1 09:50

Ayatollah Amoli IAU Student Conquers Mount Damavand

1397/6/24 10:57

Ghasabeh, The Greatest & Oldest Qanat in the World

1397/4/25 11:28

UNESCO Adds Sassanids Art and Architecture to Its World Heritage List

1397/4/12 11:01

Iran to Host WCC Awards Final Evaluation

1397/2/23 11:58

UNESCO Awards Six IIDCYA Members

1396/10/2 10:02

S & R IAU among the 'UI GreenMatric World Varsity Rankings 2017

1396/9/28 13:37

UNESCO Tag Forecast to Draw More Foreign Tourists to Yazd

1396/7/30 10:22

Iran to Host 2021 APGN Symposium

1396/7/3 10:20

Iran’s Heritage Organization to Set-Up Open-Air Museum Near Persepolis

1396/6/13 09:39

IAU S&R Holds UNESCO Regional Award for Clean & Renewable Energy

1396/5/10 01:47

Tourism Capital of Islamic Countries in 2018: Tabriz, Iran

1396/5/4 00:50

Iran’s Historic City Yazd Inscribed as UNESCO Heritage Site

1396/4/24 23:38

South Tehran IAU, Institute of Natural Disasters, & UNESCO Chair Sign Mou

1395/12/12 18:37

Norooz Places on UNESCO Intangible Heritage List

1395/9/13 12:23


1395/6/9 23:38

UNESCO Announces World Heritage Sites for 2016

1395/5/1 03:24

IAU & UNESCO to Ink Co-op MoU

1395/3/22 17:02

UNESCO Regional Office Opens in S & R IAU

1394/12/4 12:40

IAU and UNESCO Negotiate Mutual Cooperation

1394/11/13 02:21


Popular News

Latest News